Return to MyLocalTV

Bookmark and Share
Market Square Wins Provincial Award

The 11th annual Saskatchewan Municipal Awards program has announced this year's winners. These awards recognize innovation and excellence in Saskatchewan local governments of all types.

First Place: Downtown Market Square (City of Swift Current) Winning Practice: Developed a Market Square to revitalize downtown Swift Current and engage local business, artisans, farmers, and city administration on economic development. Second Place: Saskatchewan's Outback: Community Branding Campaign (Town of Carrot River and RM of Moose Range)

Winning Practice: Developed a community brand to retain and encourage tourism business in and around Carrot River. Third Place: Youth Committee (Town of Kindersley)

Winning Practice: Established a Youth Committee program to revitalize youth engagement, increase the contributions of young people, and support an inter-generational connection. Regional Cooperation: Legacy Regional Protective Services (RM of Wilton, Town of Lashburn, and Town of Marshall) Winning Practice: Created a joint protective services organization to reduce costs, manage risk, and enhance service levels for the region.

The awards will be distributed to the winning rural municipalities at the SARM Midterm Convention on November 7 at 1:00 p.m. at the Conexus Arts Centre in Regina. The winning urban municipalities will receive their awards at the annual SUMA Convention in February 2018 in Regina.

SWTV News Image.

Copyright Overtime Communications Ltd. 2017